Picture a day – #365

Raindrop

Raindrop

It’s been one full year, 365 days,  since I set this little challenge for myself – a picture a day for a year.

As I end this challenge, I think it’s important to look back on the reason why I started it. My inspiration came from the passing of my aunt and uncle. My aunt died on August 1st, 2013 while my uncle passed on August 6th, 2013. I think about them all the time and remember the happiness they brought into the lives of everyone they knew. They were wonderful people and my family misses them dearly. They were each creative, especially my aunt, and I wanted to follow my own creative interests.

Taking a picture a day for a year hasn’t always been easy. I’ve missed days here and there, but I’ve made sure to catch up. It’s been an interesting 12 months though. It’s made me look at things a bit differently, always searching out opportunities for an interesting shot. Sadly I think I sometimes failed in the endeavour, but it did give me a greater appreciation for my surroundings and just how amazing life can be.

Through their own attitudes and actions, my aunt and uncle showed it’s important to love the life we’re each given. Spend your time with the people you cherish and do the things you love to do. If you like a scotch and water in the afternoon, drink one (or two, or three lol). If you love solving massive jigsaw puzzles, solve away. It really is that simple. Live, laugh (loudly and often) and –  above all – love the people in your life.

Do what makes you happy, was the advice my aunt gave to me before she passed away. That’s the real challenge in all of this and it’s one I plan to continue.

As for my photographic exploits, I don’t know if I’ll keep taking a shot a day, but I think I’ll keep snapping and posting photos from time to time. You’ve certainly not seen the last of me, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

