Picture a day – #64

Today, was a pretty big day – the 22nd annual CIBC Run for the Cure.

Now, not only was it a big day for the organization and fundraising for breast cancer research, but it was a big day for me.

I set a specific goal back in the spring and today I accomplished it. Today, I jogged a full 5km without stopping or walking.

For many people this isn’t such a big deal, but for me it was pretty impressive. I haven’t run that far continuously in an organized race since Gr. 12 – that’s a full 8 years ago.

Making it all the more challenging was the fact that I really hadn’t trained as much as I should have. I’ve been running/jogging off and on for the last few weeks, but nothing consistent. I knew the run today was going to be hard, but I also knew I had to give it my best shot because I was running for, and in memory of, some pretty important people.

So off I went. It wasn’t easy and there were a number of times I wanted to throw in the towel (specifically kilometre 2 to 3 and the last 500m of the race), but I just thought about how disappointed I would be in myself if I stopped and decided to push through instead.

And you know what? Eventually I crossed that finish line and after catching my breath I was really happy I’d been able to do it.

Congratulations to everyone who participated – you’re all fantastic!

P.S. – I highly recommend wearing funny shirts/tanks at events like these. So much fun 😉

My motivation

My motivation

Leave a Reply

