Picture a day – #38

Babushka by table lamp light

Babushka by table lamp light

Get my good side

Get my good side

Made in the USSR

Made in the USSR

I’ve had this babushka (or perhaps more correctly Matryoshka doll) for as long as I can remember. It was a gift from my aunt and uncle who recently passed away. They brought it back for me from their travels in Europe and it’s always had pride of place in either my room when I was young or in my own apartments since I’ve lived on my own. It still has all of the little babushkas inside of it too – the complete set right down to the tiniest doll that’s about the size of a grain of rice. I only just noticed last week that it actually has a marking on the bottom that says ‘Made in USSR’. Goes to show you just how old it really is…It’s kind of funny how an object can have so much personal significance and historical significance at the same time.

Leave a Reply

