Tunes for June

New month, and another post on the tracks I’m digging lately.

Many of the songs I’m currently into are actually from the soundtrack for the latest incarnation of  The Great Gatsby. I saw the movie last month with my best friend and it was actually amazing.

I read the book in high school and watched the Robert Redford version back in the day, but the updated edition with Leonardo DiCaprio was out of this world. But really, why should I have expected anything less when Leo’s in it, Baz Luhrmann directs and Jay-Z is in charge of the soundtrack?

– Beyoncé & André 3000 – Back To Black

This is possibly my favourite song from the movie, so badass.

– Lana Del Rey – Young and Beautiful

I’m not usually a fan of Lana Del Rey, but I think this song is just so beautiful and fits perfectly with The Great Gatsby.

– Florence + the Machine – Over The Love

You just can’t go wrong with Florence. Ever. Another perfect fit for Gatsby.

– Jack White – Love Is Blindness

The next couple of songs are a departure from the Gatsby theme.

– Robin Thicke ft. T.I. and Pharrell – Blurred Lines

I don’t know what it is about this song, but every time I hear it all I want to do is dance around. Perfect summer song!

– Mariah Carey ft. Miguel – #Beautiful

From the first time I heard this song I knew I loved it. I’ve had it on repeat for a while now. It’s sweet, but a little sad sounding too.

Happy listening!

Leave a Reply

